Can we delete old conversations

6 Replies, 695 Views

Is there a way to delete old conversations in the user CP?  I have them all marked as read but I hate seeing them there.
As yet, no. It is a planned feature in the (dated) roadmap though: https://creativeandcritical.net/myconversations/roadmap

However, right now the option you have available to you is to "delete" individual messages in the conversation via the inbox and sent items folders.

I quote "delete" because this is not a true deletion, but only a hiding-from-your-own-eyes of the messages in those folders (and if you've moved the messages to other folders, then you can "delete" them from those folders too): other conversation participants will still be able to see those messages after you've "deleted" them.

I sense, though, that this deleted-from-your-eyes-if-not-from-those-of-others may well be sufficient for you - let me know if not.
[-] The following 1 user Likes Laird's post:
  • Brian
(2022-02-21, 05:23 PM)Laird Wrote: As yet, no. It is a planned feature in the (dated) roadmap though: https://creativeandcritical.net/myconversations/roadmap

However, right now the option you have available to you is to "delete" individual messages in the conversation via the inbox and sent items folders.

I quote "delete" because this is not a true deletion, but only a hiding-from-your-own-eyes of the messages in those folders (and if you've moved the messages to other folders, then you can "delete" them from those folders too): other conversation participants will still be able to see those messages after you've "deleted" them.

I sense, though, that this deleted-from-your-eyes-if-not-from-those-of-others may well be sufficient for you - let me know if not.

Yeah, that's fine and it's sane if there were others involved in the conversation.  Thank you.  And thank you for your complement about my fractals.  I didn't want to make the thread about my work so I left it there intending to thank you in a PM.
[-] The following 2 users Like Brian's post:
  • Laird, Typoz
One thing I noticed is that if another person started the conversation, it may be possible to "leave" that conversation. It presumably doesn't delete anything but seems to make it disappear from view.

I didn't find a way to do the same where I had started the conversation myself.
[-] The following 2 users Like Typoz's post:
  • Laird, Brian
(2022-02-21, 05:45 PM)Typoz Wrote: One thing I noticed is that if another person started the conversation, it may be possible to "leave" that conversation. It presumably doesn't delete anything but seems to make it disappear from view.

I didn't find a way to do the same where I had started the conversation myself.

Yeah, I've just discovered the same.
(2022-02-21, 05:45 PM)Typoz Wrote: One thing I noticed is that if another person started the conversation, it may be possible to "leave" that conversation. It presumably doesn't delete anything but seems to make it disappear from view.

I didn't find a way to do the same where I had started the conversation myself.

Yes, that's totally correct: anybody other than the conversation-starter may leave a conversation, such that it is no longer visible at all to the conversation-leaver. Apologies for failing to note that this option is available.

(The only reason that the conversation-starter may not - yet - leave a conversation is that it would require the selection of another member to replace the conversation-starter as the "owner" of the conversation, and I have not yet gotten around to implementing the user-interface whereby a leaving conversation-starter selects a remaining conversation-owner, let alone considering whether it should even be (ethically) possible for a leaving conversation-starter to arbitrarily select a new conversation-owner).

I should also add that although above I noted that individual conversation messages may be "deleted" (quotes very much intended), if I recall the code correctly, those "deleted" messages may display in conversation view anyway. I do have to emphasise that it's been a while since I've looked at that code and I might have misremembered.
[-] The following 2 users Like Laird's post:
  • Brian, Typoz
(2022-02-21, 05:52 PM)Laird Wrote: I should also add that although above I noted that individual conversation messages may be "deleted" (quotes very much intended), if I recall the code correctly, those "deleted" messages may display in conversation view anyway. I do have to emphasise that it's been a while since I've looked at that code and I might have misremembered.

Actually, testing this: no, I have misremembered. I should have more faith in myself to implement code correctly. If an individual conversation message is "deleted" via its entry in the message folders, then it does not show up in conversation view for the member who deleted it (though, as indicated, it continues to show up for members in the conversation who have not "deleted" it).
(This post was last modified: 2022-02-21, 06:04 PM by Laird. Edited 1 time in total.)
[-] The following 2 users Like Laird's post:
  • Brian, Typoz

  • View a Printable Version
Forum Jump:


Users browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)